Tomorrow is the big day!

Tomorrow at 12am (EST), Her Knowing will be officially released. You can still get it on Smashwords for $0.99 until the end of today using the code VJ86M. In the meantime, here is another excerpt from chapter nine of the book.

“So what are we doing?” I blurted out suddenly.

“What do you mean,” Chris asked coolly.

“I mean, what are we?”

“What do you mean?”

“Are we friends?”

“Yes,” he answered impassively.

“Or are we more than friends? Or is that even an option?”

Chris took a long sip of his drink and sighed heavily. “You ask allot of questions Sarah.”

“I just want to know where I stand” I stated firmly.

“Where do you think you stand?”

“I don’t know and that’s why we’re having this discussion.”

Chris nodded slowly. “Well, I think we are what we are. I like you, you like me, and we enjoy being around each other. Why do we have to complicate that with labels and such?”

“Because labels make everything more clear.”

“Do they?” Chris asked as he took another sip of his drink and stared out the window.

“Yes, they do. I mean we hang out all the time, we both like each other, and we have even had sex at this point. So what gives?”

“Are you mad because I haven’t asked you out on a date?”

Hesitating, I tried to think of a good answer. If I said yes, I could be seen as being desperate and needy. But if I said no, then the situation would stay as is. “I don’t know,” I answered finally.

“Well, if you don’t know, then how am I supposed to know what to do to make you happy with our situation?”

I glared across the table and took another sip from my drink. Within a few minutes our waiter came back with our food. Eating mostly in silence, Chris stole glances of the people walking on the street below while I mulled over the conversation that had just ensued. When lunch was done, Chris paid for our meal and offered to walk me back to my room.

“I’ll be fine,” I said coldly as I hugged him goodbye.

“Are you sure?” he asked as he let me go.

“Yes, I’m sure.”

“You’re mad, aren’t you?”

“What would give you that impression?”

“You won’t let me walk you back to your room. And you always let me walk you back to your room.”

This was true, but I wasn’t going to give in still. “Well, I think today I will be fine.”

“No you won’t be. You’re going to go back to your room and watch a sappy, girly movie. Then, you will scarf down a bag of gummy worms while crying, ‘Why can’t Chris be like this!’ ”

“No, I’m not”, I said as I turned to walk away.

It was sad that he knew me so well. The taste of gummy worms was already on the tip of my tongue as I got back to my room and thought of popping in a sappy love story for the afternoon. In the end though, I decided not to give Chris the satisfaction of being right. Instead, I decided to work more on my upcoming novel.

“Chapter one,” I said as my fingers started to fly on the keyboard.

Note: No part of the aforementioned excerpt may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted by any means without the author’s prior consent. 

Leave a Reply

