Famous by Annie Reed (A short story review)

I really hate short stories and usually will keep on moving if I happen across one. However, last night around 1am after I had finished another round of edits, I stumbled across the short story Famous by Annie Reed. After some finagling with Kobo’s website, I was able to read a preview of the book and instantly clicked on ‘buy me’.

 

Finishing the short story in about ten minutes with the aid of some Red Bull, I closed my tablet and found myself both satisfied and thirsting for more. The story follows a young man named Jeremy, on his quest to set out to become a famous serial killer. However, he doesn’t want to be just any serial killer. He wants to be famous for killing supernatural beings and so he goes to the Shadows, a place known for hosting tittie bars full of supernatural women with seemingly perfect bodies. I won’t go into much more detail in case any of you want to read this story. However, I will say that the plot keeps you intrigued until the story is complete with a plot twist that makes you want to laugh in a sadistic sort of way.

Overall, I’d give the book 4.5 stars, with half a star missing due to the price. It’s $3.49 on Kobo which seems somewhat high for the length of the book in my humble opinion. Had it been coupled with two or three of their other works, I’d give it a five. But maybe you can read it for yourself and see what you think of it.

http://anniereed.wordpress.com/fiction/collections-and-anthologies/

Edit: I have just found out that there is a collection of these stories available on Amazon. *Cue my gleeful squeal of excitement* So definitely go check that out!

Leave a Reply

