Excerpt from Chapter One of Her Knowing

Opening my eyes, I found myself sitting by the ocean on a white, sandy beach. The kind of beach I’d only seen on TV and read about in glossy travel magazines. No one else was around, aside from the palm trees that swayed in the soft breeze. The wet, salty air pricked at my nose, while the soft sand slipped between my toes. The dream felt more real than anything else I’d ever experienced before. Even more real than the bed I’d just fallen asleep in.

All I needed was a cold, fruity drink and I could have stayed here forever. Feeling the hot rays of the sun on my bare skin, I didn’t want to wake up. Especially not for coffee with a bunch of random girls I didn’t know.

With my bum planted firmly in the sand, I listened to the ocean surf rush toward the beach. I had always loved the sound of the ocean, ever since I was small. Being close to it had always put me at peace. Lying there with my forearms propped up underneath me, I closed my eyes and breathed in some more.

A few minutes passed, when I began to notice the waves becoming louder. Opening my eyes a little bit, I saw them being washed out to sea, only to come back harder and further onto the shore. They rippled and folded onto one another while the warm sun disappeared behind an army of clouds. Suddenly my dream began to feel way too real as the blue sky gave way to dark grey clouds. A storm was coming and I was ready to wake up.

Running to the edge of the beach, I began to splash myself in the face with water. The waves beat against my legs while I started to panic. Thunder cracked against the sky as a howling wind swept over the beach. Panicking, I started to think back to what I’d read on the internet before; about how it was possible for people to die in their sleep from dying in a dream.

I really hoped it was nothing more than an online rumor, since I wanted to wake up to live at least one day as a full blown co-ed. Screaming at myself to wake up, I frantically continued to throw water at my face. Realizing it wasn’t going to work, I looked up at the sky in despair. Hovering in the distance, I saw a tiny white light. Moving toward me rapidly, it grew bigger as my despair turned to fear.

Almost without thinking, I opted to make a run for it. The palm trees behind me weren’t much shelter, but they were better than being out in the open. Climbing the shallow hill that led to them, my hopes were dashed. Looking through the line of trees, I realized the thin island was nothing more than about half a mile long at the most. Beyond the tiny beach on the other side, there was nothing but water. I was stuck here.

Turning around, I felt the warmth of the light heading directly toward me. Bracing myself for impact, I sat down on the hill, shut my eyes, and crossed my arms around my legs. The waves had reached a maddening roar as they pounded the beach a few feet in front of me. Then suddenly, everything stopped. The thunderous waves calmed as the soothing sound of low tides hitting the shore returned.

“Loreali.” I heard a woman’s voice utter soothingly. When I didn’t respond, she repeated her call. “Loreali.”

Realizing I was no longer alone, I wondered if my imagination had made up some new people to join me here on this island. Slowly, I peeked through my arms and looked out onto the ocean. Perched a few feet above the ocean was a winged white unicorn. Upon its back sat a young woman who looked to be in her early twenties. She was wearing a strapless, long, white gown with a ruffled skirt. A white sash hugged her waist, meeting at a large, neat bow behind her back. Long, loose ringlets of fine white hair fell midway down her back, swaying gently in the ocean air. Her magnificent unicorn neighed loudly, shaking its beautiful mane, while the woman smiled down upon me.

“Loreali,” she said again as she reached out her hand to me.

“Are you looking for someone” I asked as I took my arms down and stretched out my legs. Looking at me curiously, she commanded her winged beast to land on the beach. With a loud crack like lightning, its hooves beat the sand as it kneeled before me. Dismounting the beautiful creature, the woman walked over to me.

Barefoot, she seemed to float above the sand with each step she took. A faint white aura engulfed her body, emanating a radiance that was neither overpowering nor subtle. Still beaming with delight, she stood face to face with me as the sun returned to the sky.

“I am looking for someone,” she said. “And after many years of searching it seems I have finally found her.” Her white eyes, that were full of hope, dazzled underneath the sunlight like white quartz. “Nice to meet you once more sister,” she said calmly.

Sister? The word paralyzed me. I had a sister, but she definitely was not her. “I think you’re confused,” I said. “And this really is a weird dream.”

Laughing the woman stretched out her arms to hug me, a. As her arms wrapped themselves around me, I felt an intense surge of love hit my body. It seared itself into my soul and I felt my heart open up more than it had ever done before.

“You’re just as funny as ever dear sister,” she said. “But now isn’t the time for games. We must go right away as everyone awaits us.” Letting me go, she turned to remount her horned companion.

“Wait!” I yelled. “Where am I supposed to go and who is Loreali? My name is Sarah and I think you have me confused with someone else. I’m just a college student who wants to wake up from this dream. I have to go meet my friends for coffee tonight.”

The unicorn rose from the ground and stood up onto its feet once again. “You don’t remember do you?” the woman asked.

“Remember what? This is a dream! There is nothing for me to remember! I just want to wake up right now!”

Slowly, the woman rode toward me. Bending its head toward me, her horse snorted angrily at me as it came face to face with me. Staring into its glassy brown eyes, it seemed more human than animal like. Like there was something it wanted to tell me, but it either would not or could not for reasons unknown.

“I can’t believe this,” the woman finally grumbled as she commanded the horse to turn around. Backing off, its large wings brushed against me, knocking me to the ground. Neighing loudly, its wings beat the air with a thunderous roar. The light from before, exploded around them both as they took off into the sky. Leaving me there alone to ponder what had just happened.

Note the above material is copyrighted and may not be copied, printed, or reproduced without the author’s prior consent.

Leave a Reply

