Q&A with Sarah Jempser

So after some thinking, I decided that the best way to introduce the world to the Luxora trilogy was to introduce the world to Sarah Jemsper, the main character of the books. Meeting up with her in Cupajoe, her favorite coffee shop, she squeezed me into her busy schedule to talk to me about Her Knowing.

Hi Sarah, how are you doing today?

Great! Sun’s out, class isn’t in session, and I haven’t had to fight anyone today. Today couldn’t be better.

Fight anyone? Does that happen often?

Hmm . . . Depends on what you define as often.

Does it happen everyday?

[laughs] Not everyday, just most days. By the way what time is it?

Five thirty.

Good, I still have time to get pretty before I meet up with Chris tonight. Anyway, you’re here to learn more about Her Knowing, right?

Yes, that is why we’re here. What makes this story so special and unique to you?

[laughs] Aside from it being my personal story, I think it is a story most people can relate to. I mean yeah it has some unbelievable elements to it like flying horses and dragons. But deep down everyone goes through that transformation I went through a year ago. That moment where you find yourself lost before figuring out your unique pathway in life. My story might be a little more extreme than the average one, but the core elements are the same.

True. Now you mentioned this happened a year ago. How old are you now Sarah?

Nineteen. I know I’m just a youngin’ as my grandma would say. But I’ve been through a lot already. When people read the book, they’ll see it.

What is the hardest thing you encountered in your life last year?

Outside of leaving my parents’ home, I would say it was meeting Kera and dealing with everything that came with that. She helped me a lot, and I doubt I would be where I am now without her. But it was still hard, just dealing with that huge transition from being an ordinary college student to becoming the heroine of the Etherworlds overnight.

Did anyone else help you in your transition?

Yes, Chris and Marie did. I don’t know what I would do without them either.

You’ve mentioned Chris twice in this interview already. Is he a special man in your life?

Depends on how you define special.

Are you two dating?

[laughs] I don’t think I can answer that question. But good try.

Yes, well all one can do is try. Speaking of trying, is there anything new you had to do in the past year that you had never done before?

I had to fight some pretty interesting people a few times. The sad thing is, I suck at fighting. Being a future guardian you would think I was the best thing since sliced bread at it, but no. I’m a horrible fighter. However, I think I’m getting better at it. At least Kera says I am.

I’m sure you are getting better, it has been a year.

Yeah, I would have to hope I’ve gotten better by now. I’ve had lots of practice. [laughs]

Is there anything else you would like to add about your story before we wrap things up?

I would just like to say that I would be greatly honored if people read my story. I think it has something for everyone with a love story, political intrigue, fantastical creatures, and the general growing pangs people face as they grow in life. So yeah, I just want people to be able to read my story and go, ‘Yeah, I can relate to that.’

Awesome, well thanks for talking to me today Sarah.

No problem. Now I gotta go catch a lunch date with someone before I’m due back in Luxora again.

 

Her Knowing will be released June 1, 2015 on Amazon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

