So, how long have you been a writer?

I get asked this quite frequently when I tell people I’m working on my debut novel. Usually I just say five years, since that’s when the idea to write what I’m working on, first came to me. The truth is, I’ve been a writer my entire life. Books were some my best friends growing up. Every chance I got, I would beg my mom to take me down to the public library. While other kids would be content with their picture books about watching John run. I was itching to get into the fiction section.

Finally one day I did, when my mother allowed a very young me, to take James M. Barrie’s popular book, Peter Pan, home for the first time. I still remember the first time I read the last sentence in it before closing it and breathing a sigh of relief. The feeling of finishing my first big kid book on my own.

That moment started a fire inside of me. I’d always been a daydreamer, finding the worlds I visited in my head during the night and day, more appealing than the real world. And from that moment on, I knew I wanted to write just like Mr. Barrie. To put onto paper the things I saw playing through my head like a movie for hours on end throughout the day. Thus began the beginning of my life long dream, to become not only a writer. But a published one who was pretty good at what she felt she had been born to do.

Leave a Reply

